If you want to know how to delete Facebook account, then this article is meant for you. Before you proceed further, it’s important to understand the difference between temporary deactivating an account and permanently deleting it.

Deactivating Vs Deleting a Facebook Account

How to Delete Facebook Account

Deactivating your Facebook account:

You may deactivate your account for any number of temporary reasons. This option gives you the flexibility to take a break from Facebook and come back whenever you wish to. When you deactivate your account:

  • Users won’t be able to see any information on your Timeline on Facebook.
  • Users on Facebook will not be able to search your profile.
  • Some information, such as messages you sent to other Facebook users may still be visible to them.

Facebook saves the information relates your account such as friends, photos, interests, just in case you want to come back to Facebook at some point. When you choose to reactivate your account, all the information on your profile will be there and can be accessed by you and Facebook users.

However, when you permanently delete your Facebook account:

  • You won’t be able to regain access to your account even when you wish to as the data related to your profile is permanently gone.
  • Some of the things you do on Facebook aren’t stored in your account. For example, a friend may still have messages from you even after you delete your account. So that information does remain even after you account is permanently deleted.

According to the Facebook it may take as long as 90 days to delete all the things you have posted, like your photos, status updates, since such data is stored in their backup systems. While they are in process deleting this information, it is inaccessible to other people using Facebook.

Copies of some material such as log records may remain in their database for technical reasons. When you delete your account, this material is disassociated from any personal identifiers.

How to Permanently Delete Facebook Account

Now that you have made a decision to permanently delete your Facebook account, you can request Facebook team to have your account deleted. Please keep in mind that you won’t be able to reactivate your account or retrieve anything once the process start. Before you do this, you may want to download a copy of your info from Facebook. Then, if you’d like your account permanently deleted with no option for recovery, log into your account and visit Facebook’s account deletion form to carry out the process.

When you request to have your account permanently deleted, it’s not done instantly they wait for few days in case you change your mind. If you log into your account again during this time you can even cancel your deletion request.

Please Note: Once your account is permanently deleted, there’s no way to undo this action. You won’t be able to reactivate the account or retrieve anything you have added to it. You will have to create a new account if you wish to use it again, so you should delete your account only if you are really sure that you won’t use Facebook again.